Auto
Accident
FAQ

ALL DRIVERS CAN HAVE INJURIES REGARDLESS OF FAULT.

YOU HAVE ONLY 14-DAYS AFTER YOUR ACCIDENT TO PRESERVE BENEFITS.

Even if you received a traffic citation after your accident occurred, this does not mean you are guilty, at fault, or ineligible for certain benefits under the law. Florida’s unique laws allow us to help almost anyone who has recently been injured as a result of a traffic crash.

If you have recently been in an auto accident, you may not feel the full extent of your injuries until weeks later. If you even think you might be injured, we’ll immediately begin to help you preserve your benefits under Florida law.

  • REGARDLESS OF WHO MIGHT BE “AT-FAULT”.

    Stay calm and collect as much information from the other driver involved in the accident as possible, otherwise you may not be able to hold him or her responsible if they’re at fault. There is a process for determining fault, and it is best not to prematurely take responsibility for your accident.

    Allow the process for determining fault to play out through official channels, because even though you may think you were at fault for your accident, our investigation of the facts may reveal something different than you initially expected.

    • Contact 911 or the local police.
    • Collect the names, addresses and telephone numbers from everyone involved and around the scene (e.g. independent witnesses), and the drivers license number of the driver(s), license plate numbers of any vehicle involved, and any insurance info.
    • Take photographs of any vehicle involved, injuries, and accident location.
    • If you think there is even a chance you might be injured, seek medical attention immediately.
    • Contact our office ASAP so we can begin our crash investigation to help put you in the best position possible.
  • YES, FOR THE MOST PART.

    Having fear or rage immediately after an accident, you may feel the urge to discuss it. Try not to talk about your involvement in the accident, except with our office or your attorney.

    We strongly suggest allowing official channels to be utilized in process for determining fault. Even though you may think you were at fault for your accident, our investigation of the facts may reveal something different than you initially expected. It is best not to prematurely take responsibility for your accident.

  • YES, FOR THE MOST PART.

    If possible, you should report your accident to your insurance provider within 24 hours of your accident. However, keep in mind that there is a process for determining fault, and it is best not to prematurely take responsibility for your accident.

    Even though you may think you were at fault for your accident, our investigation of the facts may reveal something different than you initially expected. Allow the process for determining fault to play out through official channels.

  • THIS MAY NOT MATTER IN YOUR CASE.

    While it may not matter in your particular case, it’s never a good idea to drive without valid insurance in Florida. If you get into an accident that is your fault, you could even face criminal charges and DMV administration fees.

    Since Florida is a “no-fault” state, the other driver will likely have his or her bills that result from the crash covered by his or her own insurance company, but only up to a maximum of $10,000. Since medical costs may quickly exceed that amount, the other driver(s) may try and sue you.

  • THIS MAY NOT MATTER IN YOUR CASE.

    Since Florida is a “no-fault” state, the bills that result from your crash will likely be covered by your own insurance company, but only up to a maximum of $10,000. If your medical bills exceed $10,000, your underinsured or uninsured (UM insurance) motorist section of your policy will come into important play if you elected this option on your automobile policy.

    If not, it is likely your only recourse against the at-fault driver is a civil lawsuit brought for the amount of personal injury and other damages you incurred as a result of their negligence.

  • THIS COULD MAKE OR BREAK AN INSURANCE SETTLEMENT.

    After exhausting your $10,000 in PIP coverage benefits, if the at-fault driver has an amount of liability coverage that is insufficient to cover the damages related to your accident, your underinsured motorist policy may cover the difference between your losses and the amount you received from the at-fault driver’s insurance company.

    If the negligent driver did not have liability coverage whatsoever, your uninsured motorist insurance may cover you. Many drivers in Florida do not carry UM coverage but should, so call your insurance carrier today.

EXPERIENCE. KNOWLEDGE. VALUE.

Our former Insurance Defense Attorney, Brandon F. Jones, knows how the insurance companies place a value on traffic crash injuries and vehicle damage. If you were involved in a traffic crash, we’ll leverage our full understanding of Traffic Law to help you establish that the other driver involved in the traffic crash was at fault, or at least responsible for a portion of your damages or injuries.

We’ve won many “full-blown” trials, including fatal traffic crashes. The Auto Injury Rhino team’s inside knowledge and bold approach will put you in the best possible position to win your case and get you the money you deserve.

DON’T SETTLE FOR LESS

Free Case Evaluation

FREE INSTANT CASE EVALUATION

Thanks for contacting RHINO Lawyers. We will be in touch shortly.